Read reviews Web Reviews

There are (63) Reviews from around the web
Displaying 1-40 of 63 1 2
tripadvisor
August 1, 2018 - Really Liked It
Did a day drive from Brisbane to Crows Nest. Continued on to Toowoomba. Drove past a few places. Stopped in at Eastgate to see if they had a room. Met Scott who was great. Gave us a nice rom at the rear of the property. Great room (29) private car park and plenty a room inside. Comfy bed and great shower. Nice tea and coffee as well. AC nice and warm and close to food venues.
Will be coming back.

Reviewer: Mattarooni, travelled as a couple
Brisbane, Australia
tripadvisor
July 31, 2018 - Really Liked It
We stay at this Motel every year and the service is amazing, staff are so friendly and the rooms are clean and beds comfortable. We have stayed at the Motel for about 6 years running now and can not fault it.

Reviewer: helenaS6874MV, travelled on business
Buddina
tripadvisor
May 22, 2018 - Really Liked It
We have been regular guests @ Eastgate on the Range as we are always treated with country care & share hospitality. Walking distance to St. Vincents Hospital & the self contained units has been a huge advantage to our needs. Scott & his parents are most accommodating.

Reviewer: JAN O, travelled with family
Thargomindah, Australia
tripadvisor
April 14, 2018 - Really Liked It
I must admit i have never been a fan of motel accomodation but this place brought my head back to an unbiased state. The room was huge and clean with iron and ironing board and minibar. The hospitality was great and on site parking fabulous. I enjoyed my stay there.

Reviewer: margheritabucchieri, travelled on business
Melbourne, Australi
tripadvisor
September 29, 2017 - Really Liked It
Rooms are very spacious and QUIET .. yet close to everything

I must say the staff are very friendly and helpful .. this is a family-owned motel and they take personal interest in their customers

I took a group of 12 - and they remembered nearly everybody's names !!

Breakfast was supreme

Reviewer: NiftyNorm, travelled with friends
Cincinnati, Ohio
tripadvisor
September 26, 2017 - Really Liked It
We stayed in a very comfortable 4 share family room, with a separate bedroom and kitchen. It was very spacious (great for 2 x children 7 & 9 yrs) and perfect for our overnight stay enroute to Victoria. The room was clean, very well maintained and the décor was modern. The beds were very comfy and warm. Parking was directly outside the room which was very handy to grab things in and out of the car. Management were very accommodating as we arrived afterhours. We would definitely recommend Eastgate on the Range. The family room would be perfect for longer stays too as they are very spacious.

Reviewer: Bee-Bee, travelled with family
Brisbane, Australia
tripadvisor
September 15, 2017 - Really Liked It
Having a wonderful time visiting the Botanic gardens in Toowoomba and Cob and Co Museum, Lindsay Street Toowoomba. The flower gardens are absolutely stunning. Got interviewed by Win News on the garden display. Great weather helped with great surroundings and live music , couldn't wish for a better day.
The Museum had a beautiful display of hanging baskets and was just wonderful to see history on display.

Reviewer: Lynettelee2014
Brisbane, Australia
tripadvisor
September 6, 2017 - Really Liked It
Very nice, well furbished and maintained, comfortable family run hotel. Rooms are very spacious and modern. The owner is absolutely Australian-style friendly, meeting your desires and requests with a smile. He can brew the best coffees ever and entertain you with a laid-back chat in the morning. Absolutely recommended.

Reviewer: silvia p, travelled with family
Matapouri, New Zealand
tripadvisor
July 26, 2017 - Really Liked It
Great accommodation with good food always helpful staff that have gone out of there way for me on multiple occasions, first choice for place to stay when in Toowoomba. Highly recommend Eastgate on the range.

Reviewer: Matt S, travelled on business
tripadvisor
June 10, 2017 - Really Liked It
We arrived at this property and found out our unit was closet to the road. We thougt this is not going to be fun with all the traffic noise, but to our amazement when we closed the door you could not hear anything. The room was sapcious, very clean and comfortable. We were towing a trailer and parking was nomissue. Pleny of parking for a truck or trailor. We did not want to drive to a restuarant for dinner, so we dined at the restaurant ondite. Scott, the owner, was so friendly and great to chat with. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. We ordered rums and they we real rums....not watered down like a lot of places. We were more than ompressed with this place, and enjoyed meeting Scott...nice guy. We will definately be back here. It has now become our pick of places to stay whilst in Toowoomba

Reviewer: tlm2402, travelled on business
Brisbane, Australia
tripadvisor
May 7, 2017 - Really Liked It
Great motel to stay in! Staff are friendly and approachable especially if you need something they'll help straight away. Rooms have everything you need. Food is fantastic. Recommend to anyone passing through Toowoomba to stay here.

Reviewer: Tay S
tripadvisor
April 17, 2017 - Really Liked It
Room is very clean and comfortable, beds are very comfortable to sleep. staff at the front desk also nice and friendly. Great location, close to good cafe and shops, just across the road. Great value for money and excellent place to stay for flower festival in September.

Reviewer: DavidNBA, travelled on business
tripadvisor
March 21, 2017 - Really Liked It
I live on the Gold Coast and have been working on the new Grand Central Plaza here in Toowoomba for quite some time now. But the 2 hr drive to and from the GC is too much on the body due to fatigue. For me it makes Eastgate on the Range the most ideal place to stay.

I've honestly lost count of how many times I've stayed here at Eastgate. So much so it's become home away from home...and I don't say that lightly.

The affordability, well kept rooms, service, food and not to forget the friendly folk that keep this well oiled machine running is what the body yearns for after a long day at work. And boy do they deliver!

So if your passing through or working in the area for a few days and needing somewhere to stay;

'Do not...I repeat DO NOT!!! let this place pass you by.'

With the restaurant attached or shops in a 4min drive or 8min walk. This place is well located

It's 2 seconds off of the main road and not off the beaten track. So, your back on the road in virtually seconds. And its just on the edge of town away from the hustle n bustle which makes it an attractive spot to wind down your day without the distractions.

If giving this place a 5/5 is a good thing. Then it's a great thing.

Ps: Other than work related. I'll be staying here in my own time when passing through for sure guaranteed.

On that note I would like to give my own personal thank you to all of you here at Eastgate that have made my past stays nothing short of welcoming n relaxing.

So thanks Eastgate on the Range

Reviewer: Ed R, travelled on business
tripadvisor
March 16, 2017 - Really Liked It
Don't look past this lovely accommodation, I have stayed here a few times in the last couple of years. Good value for money, prompt customer service, and a very clean well kept accommodation that is suitable for families singles and business people.

If you are concerned about being right on top of the range, don't be, there is a little bit of noise when outside in peak hour's, but when the doors are closed you will have the best night sleep!. Unlike others in the immediate area (close by).

Price and location is great along with a lovely restaurant onsite.

Try for yourself, you will love it and will return.

Reviewer: Kas O, travelled on business
tripadvisor
March 14, 2017 - Really Liked It
This was a family room with a good layout. It had a full kitchen with cooktop, microwave and dishwasher. Laundry facilities. Queen size bed and the beds in the other room were good. The parking was close to room. Had a nice meal in the restaurant. Great staff. Looked like the photos on the website.

Reviewer: Pauline F, travelled on business
tripadvisor
February 16, 2017 - Really Liked It
We had to travel to Toowoomba for my son's footy carnival and needed a place to stay for a few days with room for the whole family. We stumbled on Eastgate because a lot of things were booked out and they offered a bungalow room that would accommodate all of us. It turned out to be a really pleasant, convenient and affordable option. Our place was very clean and spacious. It had a kitchen and laundry and two bedrooms, living area with a porch. While there is a lot to see in Toowoomba, after a full day of footy we just wanted to hang out and rest. The fast and free WiFi was such a bonus as my husband could get his work done and the kids could use their devices with no extra charges at the end. While we cooked most nights, there was a really nice restaurant attached to the motel. Our last night there, we splurged on a meal and it was well worth it. The owners were so friendly to the kids and helpful. I never write reviews but wanted to give this place a thumbs up.

Reviewer: southerntravelqueen, travelled with family
Brisbane, Australia
tripadvisor
January 2, 2017 - Really Liked It
I have stayed at Eastgate on the Range on several occasions. It is easily accessible coming off the Range, and has very friendly staff at reception. Rooms have everything you need, at an affordable price (particularly family rooms). Certainly recommend staying here.

Reviewer: DaveFromDevonport, travelled with family
Devonport, Australia
tripadvisor
December 15, 2016 - Really Liked It
I have stayed at the Eastgate on a few occasions. I have always found reception on arrival extremely pleasant and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with everything you need for your stay. I usually order from the restaurant which is delivered to my room. The meals are fresh and well presented with a range on the menu to suit all tastes. I can recommend staying at the Eastgate on the Range.

Reviewer: Chais88, travelled on business
Condamine, Austral
tripadvisor
December 4, 2016 - Really Liked It
I had travelled around Queensland for almost a fortnight before I got to the Eastgate and it was a real pleasure to find it.
I was really surprised just how quiet it was being near the top of the range at Toowoomba but I did not hear any of the traffic and slept really well.
The rooms were comfortable, well appointed and bigger than most motels too.
I would certainly stay again!

Reviewer: John P, travelled on business
Brisbane Region, Australia
tripadvisor
October 21, 2016 - Really Liked It
This motel was everything I was looking for. It's old school, but in a good way. The room was very comfortable and clean and had everything I needed for my one night stay. The greeting was friendly and I was supplied with fresh milk for my coffee on check in, much preferred to the usual long life milk.

The WiFi was free and performed well for my purposes. I was able to check email, update social media and watch some online video clips without an issue.

Some people complain that they found the bed too hard, but I like a firm mattress and thought it was great. I've also seen comments about noise from the nearby highway. It was a little noisy, but not enough to disturb my sleep. Check that the windows are closed or ask for a room toward the back of the complex if noise is an issue for you.

My room service breakfast was exactly what I expected and excellent. If you're looking for a trendy breakfast of smashed avocado and chia with activated almonds, you are in the wrong place. Think more the breakfast version of a traditional Aussie pub mixed grill. A great start to the day. Plenty of other options to choose from as well.

This is not a 5 star hotel, so go in with the expectation that you are staying in a family run motel, with clean and comfortable rooms that represents good value for money. It made me nostalgic for motels of the 60s and 70s.

Reviewer: John M, travelled solo
Mt Coolum
tripadvisor
September 24, 2016 - Really Liked It
I've stayed in hotels and motels across the world and can honestly say that this place is the best value for money that I've ever experienced. Super clean facilities, great restaurant, quiet despite proximity to highway, good location and, no exaggeration, the best free wifi, including paid wifi offerings, that I've ever had the privilege to use! I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Reviewer: seancairns77, travelled solo
Toowoomba, Australia
tripadvisor
September 16, 2016 - Liked It
The motel room was reasonably appointed and on tap creams and shampoos etc in the bathroom which was tidy and clean. The bed was a little firm and thats a personal thing really but engine braking of trucks descending the nearby hill meant I had to don earplugs. The timing of my stay was also unfortunate as there were night roadworks also being undertaken down the hill. I had a top floor room which perhaps allowed more noise to penetrate in. Some other reviewer commented on milk and would be better if small closed containers were offered to make customer ferrying of the stuff easier. I didn't eat there but its a short walk across the road for Maccas and KFC if thats your thing for breakfast. I dont indulge in that often but......

Reviewer: 425darren, travelled solo
Sydney, Australia
tripadvisor
September 3, 2016 - Really Liked It
I had a few nights stay here for my employment. And what a very pleasant surprise. Comfortable, spacious rooms, great bathroom and facilities, everything has been thought of. Sparkling clean which is always a treat.
And the meals in the restaurant were superb. Also had room service, which arrived bang on the time requested.
Have no hesitation recommending this to anyone, single, couple or family.
Thank you for your hospitality.

Reviewer: Patricia M, travelled on business
Sunshine Coast
tripadvisor
March 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
What a great motel.. We ride motorcycles social and were welcomed with open arms .. Fantastic breakfast and Scott the owner and family catered for all our needs .. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bed was great . The location was easy to find ..Will go back again

Reviewed by Diggerdownunder, Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
tripadvisor
January 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
WOW... We were travelling back to Melbourne from the Gold Coast, after a 3 week holiday on the road. (Newell Hwy is better to get home Vic peops)
We had been at WetnWild and we were all a little frantic/exhausted!! (Also, the food I had in the mini car fridge needed to be cooked!) We booked by lastminute.com a family room at this unknown place in Toowoomba. We had only done Motel rooms or Big4 on the way up on the Pacific HWY.
My Husband and I, with 2 young children arrived and were greeted with "LOVE" and then were shown our room we booked online. One room for all of us. OK. Too tired to care.
Happy to just pay.
We came back to show credit card details and I then notice the bar fridge in reception and said, can we please buy a drink for the room? YES, I was advised!! OHHH Glory to a Mum's eye, I bought an alcoholic breezer!!" Our lovely OWNER had a great chat with us, kids included with a lemonade, and offered to show us a cabin with 2 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen, balcony, for an extra $30. PLUS the double glazed doors so there was no noise whilst sleeping. {He had spent his time wanting to know about our trip,we all talked enthusiastically} SOLD.. We are members of the BIG 4 Caravan Park, but for an overnight stay, the price was better, even with our discount. (And off course the personal touch)
That night, whilst our kids were asleep in the 2nd room, Hubby and I sat on the balcony and talked about our trip. We talked about our fun, our children, our love and our future. It was awesome and will be remembered as one of our best nights, BECAUSE WE STAYED HERE!!!....THANKYOU….

Reviewed by Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
tripadvisor
January 1, 2016 - Really Liked It
Nice & clean venue just on the beginning of the range. Beds are comfy, good size bathroom, AC, TV, fridge, microwave & free Wifi. The place can be noisy at times, but close the doors & curtains which make a big difference. There are rooms further back which would have less noise issues. Was quiet this time of year and restaurant was closed till end of Jan.

Reviewed by: TripAdvisor Member, Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
tripadvisor
October 1, 2015 - Really Liked It
I liked the position close to town and the double glazed glass which made the room silent. Free Wifi was readily available and not limited. Room service was available!! The food is delicious as there is an onsite restaurant, too.

Reviewed by: Christine B, Stayed October 2015
tripadvisor
September 1, 2015 - Really Liked It
The man on reception and the male manager were so helpful and friendly. We stayed for a weekend and had a lovely clean room which was great value for the price. We also dined at the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal with great service. Would recommend as a clean, well maintained and friendly motel.

Reviewed by: Mandy W Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends
tripadvisor
June 25, 2015 - Really Liked It
Very nice rooms, huge bathroom with huge shower head - our room had queen bed, single bed and fold out couch into double bed. With a family of 5 (two teens) the floor space was limited with the couch folded out but very doable and a really lovely motel. Close to hospital and under 10 mins to city centre. Restaurant on the premises.

Reviewed by: Kylie13sam, Stayed June 2015
tripadvisor
June 17, 2015 - Really Liked It
We enjoyed 5 nights here for a recent sporting engagement. We were very happy with the cabin and the facilities. 2 bedrooms to accommodate everyone including Grandad. Spacious bathroom with washing machine and dryer to wash dirty footy clothes each day.Spa to soothe the aches and pains...so my son says. Room was attended each day with fresh towels. Room was well heated for us Northern sooks who hate to be cold. Windows and doors double glass which reduced noise. One night trucks were particularly noisy buy otherwise a great night sleep.If you need a great feed, we enjoyed room service and ordered the children's meals which were fantastic and fresh, and an awesome size. No playground or area for kids to play at the Hotel but plenty of parks around if you want to leave the venue

Reviewed by: Mac N ,Stayed June 2015, travelled with family
tripadvisor
May 12, 2015 - Really Liked It
Booked a cabin for a quick stay during a work trip. Spacious and comfortable enough with a kitchen-lounge and separate bedroom with a large en-suite and spa bath.

Surprisingly quiet considering the constant stream of trucks driving up and down the range on a very steep incline. The bedroom and lounge had double doors and double glazing so I really didn't hear the truck noise at all.

No conventional oven, only a microwave so don't bring food for cooking in an oven.
No views to speak of from the cabins. There might be some views from the upper rooms of the central motel complex?

The greeting on arrival was strange. I felt like I was being looked up and down and 'inspected' to make sure I wasn't the type to throw a party and wreck the place. Very old style check-in when you are asked if you want milk for coffee.

The restaurant had zero diners that night. No-one in the adjoining bar. The place was socially deceased.

The room was comfortable and clean enough to enjoy a decent sleep and move on the next day. For the price, this was pretty good value.

Reviewed by: Rednut,Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
tripadvisor
May 2, 2015 - Really Liked It
Stayed overnight for the second time. Everything was spotless, room was large, bed was comfy. Owners very obliging. In-room cooked breakfast was huge and very good value. Although it is on the highway, we had no problems with noise at all.

Reviewed by: tbtravels711,Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
tripadvisor
April 16, 2015 - Really Liked It
Stayed in a family cabin, which despite Eastgate being on the Warrego Highway/Toowoomba Range was surprisingly quiet. Comfy beds, fully equipped kitchen and even a good shower. Good value for money. Pity about Weis' being closed but plenty to choose from.

Reviewed by: Tim C,Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
tripadvisor
February 26, 2015 - Really Liked It
Wonderful place to stay. Perfectly clean and meticulously presented. Our room was perfect for our one night stay and so nice to book something online and find it even better than expected. Lovely staff a real pleasure to have stayed here...I cant say it enough clean clean clean!!!

Reviewed by: ccharmi71,Stayed February 2015
tripadvisor
January 24, 2015 - Really Liked It
This motel had everything we required for a one night stay. We thought a "Bungalow" with a spa sounded like fun. It wasn't quite as romantic as we expected and the unit was a duplex type building, of which there are quite a few. Although the motel seemed largely vacant, we were placed in a "bungalow" in full view of reception and to be honest, for two professionals in our 40s, we felt a little bit like 20 somethings who might potentially cause trouble. If only.

The room was reasonably well appointed and clean. A dining table isn't always provided and certainly a porch with furniture would have been well utilised in the cool of the evening, had we been placed with a little more consideration to our privacy.

Checkout in the morning is best left as a key in the door, because I barely raised a "thank you" from the owners, but got a decent staring down for some reason. Yes two adults in two separate cars meet in motels on weekends. Who knew? Did it do the trick? Not really. The motel we checked into up the road the next night was much more welcoming.

Reviewed by: Cam H,Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
October 28, 2014 - Really Liked It
Often I find incorrect facts regarding both great places with poor reports and terrible places with great reports. Last night, we found an unexpected treat. The Eastgate Motel on the range, in Toowoomba, Queensland is amazing. It has been taken over by a new owner, Scott Gelling 3 1/2 weeks ago. Spotlessly clean, great beds, huge bathroom and an amazing restaurant. We were sorry we could only stop 1 night as we had already booked the flight back to Adelaide today. Eastgate on the range definitely deserves the highest rating possible. Staff and Scott and his family are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewed by: Anne D,Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
October 24, 2014 - Really Liked It
Booked into this motel for the first set of five nights (total of 20+ nights in total needed) and was ultra concerned about cleanliness, having just spent 6 weeks in a disgustingly smoke and nicotine smelling and stained room in Hawker (ACT). I was very very pleased with the cleanliness of the room, the friendliness of the staff (I was greeted with an offer of fresh milk- instead of that loathesome UHT rubbish- a small thing I appreciated greatly). The room was also clean smelling, which to a non-smokerand someone who gags at the smell of cigarettes was a welcome relief.
Congratulations to the new owner/manger of 3 weeks. I was delighted to hear that they are charging people who smoke in the non-smoking rooms; this MUST be replicated by other motels and hotels alike. I am about to book the rest of the nights here without any qualms what so ever and thoroughly recommend this establishment to travellers. It is also close to some very good restaurants too!!.

Reviewed by: Tangalooma2000,Stayed October 2014, travelled on business
tripadvisor
July 9, 2014 - Really Liked It
We have stayed at Eastgate a number of times over the years (and again just this week) and every time our stay has been of the highest standard with absolute comfort and enjoyment with extremely welcoming hosts. We have stayed in the motel rooms and when with our son & his wife, have stayed in the family units. Everytime, we've had spotlessly clean, well furnished rooms and each time the bed has been of the utmost comfortable and the shower always with abundant hot water. We have never had the same room twice so have had a chance to see/use a variety of rooms and am happy to say we've never had a bad experience. Every room has been perfect.

We travel to Toowoomba a couple of times a year and Eastgate is where we stay every time. I cannot fault this motel and highly, HIGHLY recommend it.

Reviewed by: kezzaloveslife,Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
tripadvisor
April 30, 2014 - Really Liked It
Had the pleasure of staying at Eastage for the second time and found it was just as enjoyable as the first. Great location, very clean and fresh accommodation. Welcoming arrival and the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Don't let the fact it is located close the the highway put you off as the rooms are very sound proof. Look forward to our next stay.

Reviewed by: Mary L,Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
tripadvisor
October 3, 2013 - Really Liked It
Please note: Booking.com advertises free wifi - not accurate!
This is a good value motel, spacious room, comfortable bed, all the basics covered. They were even able to accommodate an early check-in so I could freshen before attending a funeral.
The location is on the highway at the top of the range, so the potential for noise is high, but with the highway-facing windows closed, the noise is almost non existent. However, this relies on reliable air conditioning to stop the room getting stuffy. Unfortunately this is something I did not have on my stay and when I reported this to reception, there was no offer of a new room or even a fan to circulate the air. Disappointing.

Reviewed by: CanberraAussieMum,Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Displaying 1-40 of 63 1 2